Kiva it is as if you read my blog!

The phone rings. It is Kiva.

Me: Hello!
Kiva: Hello! It is Kiva!
Me: Hello Kiva!
Kiva: Hello Chris!
Me: Hi Kiva!
Kiva: Hi!
Me: Hi!
Kiva: Chris!
Me: Yes what is it!
Kiva: We have a new project for you!
Me: I am excited!
Kiva: We want you to shoot a video about your field partner’s achievements in social performance!
Me: Oh no!
Kiva: What is wrong!
Me: I do not want to!
Kiva: Explain!
Me: I have a deep-seated revulsion toward video cameras!
Kiva: What!
Me: Let’s do a photo essay instead!
Kiva: Wait!
Me: I am waiting!
Kiva: Just hear us out!
Me: Okay!
Kiva: We want you to travel to an IDP camp to speak to borrowers who work with your field partner!
Me: That is great because I am doing that anyway!
Kiva: We want you to record in-depth interviews with these borrowers and collect their harrowing stories of war and displacement!
Me: That is exactly what I wanted to do there!
Kiva: We also want you to wander around documenting the current state of life in the IDP camps!
Me: That too is exactly what I wanted to do there!
Kiva: We want to assemble your raw footage into a short documentary video to educate viewers in the developed world about the severe challenges Azerbaijan’s IDPs face!
Me: You are reading my mind!
Kiva: We want to provide you with logistical support and suggested contacts and intensive guidance along the way to help you break into these communities and lower some of the barriers to true immersion that are currently holding you back!
Me: I LOVE YOU KIVA!
Kiva: Will you do this!
Me: I will do it!
Kiva: That is great!
Me: I know!
Kiva: Thank you!
Me: I am excited!
Kiva: Goodbye!
Me: Goodbye!
Kiva: Goodbye!

The phone is hung up. An entire conversation has been bellowed at the top of the lungs.

About Arbutus

learner, traveler, music-maker, explorer, rabbit extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Azerbaijan, Kiva Fellowship. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kiva it is as if you read my blog!

Leave a Reply

