Belarus and other such dictatorships

June 3
Minsk, Belarus

DSC_9439
The Bernardine Church of Hrodna, reflected in a broken window.

My post-fellowship travels have begun! And what better way to celebrate my newfound freedom than to go vacationing in a KGB dictatorship?

I spent the first days of June in Belarus, a country that, until a week before, had been a mystery to me. I knew it mainly for its dictator, Alexander Lukashenko, whom Condoleezza Rice had once placed on her own personal Axis of Evil. That was all I knew; that, and that its capital, Minsk, was supposedly an unnerving Soviet theme park in which KGB officers prowl amid an endless procession of Stalinist facades. But something about that image didn’t sit right with me. It made Belarus sound like a country steeped in fear and devoid of life… and if I’ve learned one thing over the past year, it’s that life, small-scale, determined, happily banal, perseveres in the most unlikely of places. So I bought a train ticket north and left Ukraine to go fill in a blank spot on my map.

DSC_9936
Minsk makes Stalinism look good. No, I never thought I would say those words either.

Like Ukraine, Belarus has spent most of its existence as a borderland between empires. And as such, Belarus, like Ukraine, has been crushed by history. Belarus was directly in the path of the Nazi steamroller during World War II, and its cities were largely razed to the ground. Eighty percent of the buildings in Minsk were reduced to rubble. One-third of the entire population of Belarus, and four-fifths of its Jewish community, was killed during this one war. To visualize this, imagine a third of your friends dead. Imagine a third of your extended family, dead. Which ones will they be?

I’ll give you a moment to try to grasp that.

DSC_9660
The shrapnel-maimed Holmsky Gates of Brest Fortress: a photo of Belarusian history.

Nor is it all sunshine and roses now. When the Soviet Union fell apart in 1991, Belarus was the richest of the newly independent Soviet republics. Twenty years later, it’s one of the poorest. The economy has gone into freefall multiple times since independence, and the Belarusian ruble is close to worthless, with an exchange rate of 8,300 rubles to the dollar. Thankfully (?), the inflationary episodes have been so frequent that prices haven’t kept up; at many restaurants, you can get a not unclassy meal for around 30,000 rubles, or roughly $3.50. It’s kind of nice… until you consider the elderly people who toiled all their lives to amass a 30,000-ruble nest egg, only to watch their life savings turn into barely enough money to buy groceries for the week.

DSC_9668
RICHES. RICHES BEYOND MY WILDEST DREAMS. (Actually, less than 40 bucks.)

And over it all hangs the specter of Alexander Lukashenko, a Soviet-inspired dictator cut from cruel cloth. Lukashenko is the sort of president who orders an opposition politician to be beaten to the edge of a coma, and then, when he wakes up, dispatches the KGB to brazenly abduct him from his hospital bed, ripping out IVs, wife screaming, and to spirit him away to an unknown prison. The police do prowl in Belarus, both secret and otherwise. In Minsk, I watched a cop round on a babushka, a 70-year-old woman selling herbs (without a permit, I think) out of a tattered canvas bag, and whack her bag with a nightstick, scattering scallions across the tiled floor. “Clean it up and get out!” he barked.

It seems impossible – to us, at least – that anyone could remain unaffected by this, could find a way to live a normal life without concerning themselves with politics or the police. Is it possible for a Belarusian to be truly happy? I think many Americans, immersed in our rhetoric of democracy and freedom, find that hard to accept. It’s easier for us to imagine citizens of a dictatorship as wretched, paranoid people, speaking in whispers, faces drawn, always afraid, forever monitored by secret police officers waiting for an excuse to take them away.

I’ve spent most of my past year living in dictatorships, though, and in the process I discovered something I once found it impossible to believe: Life goes on. Ordinary people have an amazing ability to ignore the most repressive of political conditions and to survive, even thrive, in the process. The streets of Minsk are alive with pedestrians, and the nightclubs bustle, and everything is new and shiny, and women sell fruit at the market and buy groceries for their families and hold hands with their boyfriends as they stroll down the street. So what – they say – if our president is arresting protesters and beating dissidents in jail? Who wants to be a dissident? Why can’t those people just work with the hands they’re dealt, like the rest of us? Just stay away from politics, stay home whenever the young people have a protest scheduled, and nothing can stop us from living a normal life.

DSC_9467
Fishermen on the riverbank in Hrodna.

But how can you just ignore this? sputters the American part of my brain. How can you live with such brazen abuses of power? How can you call that living, when every day you have to gamble that your out-of-control government won’t turn its eye on you? (I imagine this part of my brain as a tiny candlelit room in which Thomas Jefferson and James Madison sit at a table, peering sternly over their spectacles at me and making occasional abusive remarks about George III.)

Natural questions, all. But I think it speaks volumes about American privilege, the fact that many of us can conceive of no more grave responsibility than to stand up against our political oppressors. Many of the people I’ve met in the developing world would, I feel, be skeptical. What about buying food to feed your family? What about giving your children an education? What about finding a stable line of work to ensure your children will lead a better life? In a country where politics is a volatile and dangerous game, what is more important: to fulfill your responsibility to support your family, or to go dabbling in political pursuits that could get you killed?

And there’s another thing, too – one that did even more to break my poor American brain when I discovered it was true. Many people genuinely like and appreciate their dictators. I had multiple Tajiks tell me, unprompted and in the privacy of their homes, how grateful they were to their oafish despot Emomali Rahmon for ending the horrific 1990s civil war and reuniting the Tajik people. As far as they are concerned, Rahmon brought security and stability to Tajikistan; far from standing in the way of their normal lives, he was the one who made normal life possible again.

And in wealthy, oil-soaked Azerbaijan, where the GDP is skyrocketing, Baku is a city ascendant, and dictator Ilham Aliyev has propelled the country onto the international stage… who’s complaining? I met some of the discontents who have been left behind, but almost every other Azeri I talked to seemed thrilled by the Aliyev-driven renaissance. We are accustomed to thinking of dictators as rulers who have no interest in their people, whose only concern is to accumulate power and retain it forever; we can’t wrap our minds around those like Aliyev, who, even as they jail dissidents and monitor Facebook profiles and disperse protesters in increasingly violent and nasty ways, are working to make the majority of their citizens’ lives better. As far as many Azeris are concerned, Aliyev is the man who has repaired their gas lines and repaved their roads and rebuilt their cities and resettled the country’s IDPs in houses he gave away for free. And in so doing, he has bought their wholehearted support.

We could argue – and we would be entirely correct – that sentiments like these stem from dictators’ tight control over what gets reported in the media, and that their citizens wouldn’t be nearly so supportive if given full information about the awful things their rulers do. But would we be missing the point?

I am playing devil’s advocate, and for that I apologize. It’s certainly not my intent to defend these dictators – nor to claim that dictatorships don’t have significant negative impacts on their citizens – nor to suggest that most people there are leading fully self-actualized lives. And I’m aware that, these being dictatorships, the perspectives I got from my in-country hosts might not reflect what they actually feel (though in most cases the non-political conversational context, coupled with their emotion and unprompted spontaneity, has led me to trust their words).

Really, I’m just doing what I do: trying to dig into people’s heads, people with values and lives far different from my own, to understand what makes them tick.

DSC_9821
The national library of Belarus.

About Arbutus

learner, traveler, music-maker, explorer, rabbit extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Belarus, Personal Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Belarus and other such dictatorships

  1. snowygordon says:

    My host mom here misses the Soviet Union. When I asked her why, she talked about the good life that used to be: people helping one another, always having a place to live, always being happy, no drunkenness, no poverty, no depravity. Like you, there is an ever-present temptation in my mind to counter these claims and face believers with what I learned as reality, but you’re right–we’d be missing the point. Besides, I don’t go abroad to challenge others; I go to challenge myself. What better way to do that than to have someone tell you in earnest that their life was better back then when, by all other accounts, it was not?

    • Arbutus says:

      Not only that – if someone tells you their life was better back then, then what right do we have to tell them they’re wrong? That’s their own subjective experience. If your host mom says her life was better under the Soviet Union, it’s because she weighed the costs and benefits and decided that she would rather have security, safety, dependability, and camaraderie instead of capitalism, freedom of movement, and a political voice. If we tell her that the relative values she places on each of these things are somehow wrong, that’s just another instance of imposing our own American point of view on a foreign culture. What right do we have to do that?

      Thanks for bringing up the example of Soviet Union nostalgia. I totally forgot about that in my post. For years now, I’ve been asking people here “Was your life better under the Soviet Union, or now?” – and people are typically split 50/50. Or, put another way, half of all the people I’ve discussed this with have tried Soviet dictatorship, they’ve tried the new capitalist order, and they’ve decided the dictatorship was better.

      The Soviet Union nostalgia reaches its most unsettling pinnacle in today’s resurgence of Stalin-worship. I mean, good god: these people are nostalgic for Stalin? Are they even listening to themselves?! But even this I don’t find impossible to wrap my mind around. Considering how awful life was in Russia in the 1990s, after the Soviet Union fell, I find it totally plausible that for some people, Stalinist repression and political terror might not seem as bad as a tanking economy, disappearing life savings, rampant criminality, severe instability, and a weakened state that has lost much of its respect in the world.

  2. adriaorr says:

    Totally random, but I got this in my inbox and thought of you!

    http://us2.campaign-archive2.com/?u=5b63a0823e3b9c105434c46d7&id=068d841903&e=f107a69be5

    (Let me know if the link doesn’t work. The title is “Teddy Bears and Parachutes for Free Speech in Belarus.”)

    • Arbutus says:

      Hah, Adria, this is awesome! Thanks for sharing! Honestly, part of me wonders whether this had a real effect on anyone in Minsk or on the discourse there, or whether it was mostly, like the authorities said, a stunt.

  3. KWu says:

    I have two sort of random thoughts swirling around in response to this:

    1. This reminds me a bit of my mom’s stance whenever people (like myself or others too) are curious about the whole Taiwan and Tibet thing. She’s got her own version of a #firstworldproblems tag, too, scoffing that things like therapy and protests are for “people whose bellies are full and have nothing else better to do.”

    2. This also reminds me a bit of how we tend to dismiss the effects of people getting better from a placebo, which of course we need to eliminate the effects of from test results because it’s not something that’s reproducible consistently…but for the people who do feel better even if it’s not “real”, it’s real for them so…wasn’t that the whole goal in the first place anyway?

    And yet I am certainly still very entrenched in the American ideals and way of thinking and so I think that that line of thought is quite dangerous when drawn to its natural conclusion of just brainwashing people into thinking that they’re leading good lives is the same as actually leading good lives.

    What I can comfortably draw from it is greater faith in human resiliency and our brains being terrible at measuring anything absolutely instead of just comparing things relatively (then was better than now, now is better than before therefore content).

    • Arbutus says:

      I think the placebo comparison is interesting… and agree that it’s a dangerous line of thought to embrace. There are thousands of ways in which a government can protect its citizens’ rights and livelihoods (or fail to protect them, or actively violate them), and just because a dictatorship helps its citizens in some way doesn’t mean it’s not doing harm in other aspects of their lives. So – we would say – if a dictator is doing more harm than good, his country’s citizens “should” commit themselves to removing him in order to live the happiest lives possible.

      Interestingly, though, it’s been pointed out to me that that’s a peculiarly American attitude towards life… and not in a good way. Americans, they say, are never happy with what they have; everyone here is taught they should always be perpetually dissatisfied with their lot, always jockeying for a better position, always lusting for more. A happy lifestyle is rarely appreciated when it comes – because you can always be happier. When you look at it that way, our culture starts to look like one founded on envy and deliberately cultivated discontent.

      • KWu says:

        Yes, I suspect it’s true that Americans in particular are not very good at being content and are always striving for the next thing. But (said the American daughter of immigrants who left their freaking birth country because they were striving for a better life) I don’t think this is necessarily always a bad thing and I think it’s also part of the human condition. People don’t use the saying in this way really, but if you think about it, it’s sort of an application of how it’s all about the journey (striving) and not the destination (happiness), right?

        And in a lot of things, it’s the hope and the anticipation that’s more fulfilling, I think. In the past couple years I finally learned why people like holidays that mark the passage of time (birthdays, New Years’, etc.) because it’s a way to have markers to look forward to. And so now when I plan trips, I try to intentionally enjoy the planning and looking forward part of it more, since most studied show that people enjoy the before and after more than the during, a lot of the time. I think probably the key to a lot of this is not to be too disappointed or surprised if what you end up with isn’t exactly what you were going for in the first place.

        And there’s probably something tied in there pretty deeply with America being a land of immigrants…you had to be dissatisfied with one thing or another to get here and that’s stayed with us through the generations. We’re not much into complacency is the other way to look at it too.

        On the other hand, I do sometimes get a little anxious about not feeling more ambitious, actually. Like it gets to the point where I see people around me who are so hungry for the next ting and reaching all the time and it just makes me feel kind of tired and wonder if there’s something wrong with me that I’m really quite happy with my life. So, eh.

  4. moitumago says:

    “Belarus and other such dictatorships” – it is only stereotype, my dear. Could you think up a more interesting title?

Leave a Reply

