…Home

IMG_2088Sandy Hook, Monmouth County, New Jersey, United States of America.

Steve:
if I go abroad, I will want it to change me.
if it changes me, it may change what I want to do with my life
which may change what I want to do for grad school
which is why it’s my next step.
Me:
that’s just how it happened for me this time.
Steve:
how so?

(A long pause.)

Me:
i keep typing things here and deleting them.
so many ways.
so many ways.
i worked with IDPs in azerbaijan and listened to dozens of people tell me what it was like to have their lives torn apart by war.
i walked into warzones and confronted contradictions and coverups and societies that lie to themselves.
i befriended people i never in a million years would have imagined getting the chance to meet.
and i discovered how passionate i was about sharing these people’s stories, through writing, with the world.
so.
i guess what i’m trying to say is, you’re right.
go abroad.
it changes you.

About Arbutus

learner, traveler, music-maker, explorer, rabbit extraordinaire
This entry was posted in Kiva Fellowship. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to …Home

  1. Hey great blog! This is Eric from Peacemonger! really good stuff.

  2. And, man I have had this conversation like a million times.

Leave a Reply

